About Us » About Us

About Us

At Frederick A. Douglass High School, we strive to get students to and through college, while providing a genuine New Orleans high school experience that includes a variety of extra-curricular activities, milestones such as Homecoming and Prom, and culturally responsive educational experiences unique to our students in our city.
 
FDHS is also home to FDHS Early College Academy, which gives students the opportunity to earn 60 college credits and an associate's degree by the time they graduate high school. This is the first program of its kind in the state of Louisiana.
 
In addition FDHS also offers advanced classes in AP Calculus, AP English Literature, AP English Language, AP Government, AP US History, AP World History, AP Seminar, Senior College Scholars, and Bard College Classes.
 
Frederick A. Douglass High School is also the first RSD school to achieve an "A" letter grade and the first RSD school to return to OPSB.
 
School Hours: 7:30 a.m. - 3:37 p.m., with after-school busses until 5:00 p.m.
 
Office Hours: 7:15 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
 
Student Drop-Off/Pick Up: Pick up/ Drop off along St. Claude or Pauline Street when busses are not in formation.
 
Visitor Information: Visitors should enter through St. Claude to sign in at front desk. Please park along St. Claude, Rampart, or Alvar or the parking lot on Pauline.

Important Contacts
 
To report an absence please contact the front office at
504-373-6255 or email fdhsoffice@kippneworleans.org

To update your contact info or view transportation information and important school news, please visit fdhsfamily.org
 
Our bus transportation provider is First Student. For real time bus information please contact their dispatch line at (504) 262-0060
 
School Leader, Mrs. Towana Pierre-Floyd
School Operations Leader, Mrs. Danneka Mitchell, dmitchell@kippneworleans.org

School Culture:
Ms. Q, Assistant Principal
Mr. Bartlett, Assistant Principal
Ms. Kramer, Assistant Principal
Mr. Lang, Dean of Students
Mr. Sambo, Dean of Students
Mr. Welch, Dean of Students

Bullying Point of Contact
Mr. Sambo, Dean of Students, qsambo@kippneworleans.org

Student Support Coordinator- Ms. White, twhite@kippneworleans.org
School Nurse- Nurse Magee, smagee@kippneworleans.org
Social Worker (11th & 12th)- Ms. Reed, creed@kippneworleans.org
Social Worker (9th & 10th)- Dr. Magee, tmagee@kippneworleans.org
College Counselor- Ms. Williams, brittneywilliams@kippneworleans.org
College Counselor-Ms. Allen, eallen@kippneworleans.org
 
To volunteer: please contact fdhsoffice@kippneworleans.org
 
For all school based transportation concerns, contact: Danneka Mitchell, dmitchell@kippneworleans.org or call (504)373-6255.